June 8, 2016

Marc Jacobs, Thom Browne, Mansur Gavriel Win CFDA Awards

Marc Jacobs, Thom Browne, Mansur Gavriel Win CFDA Awards

WWD — NEW YORK — Marc, Thom and Beyoncé.Those were the big winners Monday night at the CFDA Awards at the Hammerstein Ballroom here, as Marc Jacobs received the Womenswear Designer of the Year prize; Thom Browne won Menswear Designer of the Year and Beyoncé was the recipient of the Fashion Icon Award. Usually the winner of that honorary prize is revealed along with the nominees in April, but this time around Beyoncé’s selection was a surprise.

Among the other honorary prizewinners this year were Norma Kamali, who received the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award; Donna Karan, who received the Founder’s Award; Alessandro Michele, creative director of Gucci, the International Award, and the Board of Directors’ Tribute was given to David Bowie, who died in January.

The other men’s wear nominees were Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne for Public School; Marcus Wainwright and David Neville for Rag & Bone; Tim Coppens, and Todd Snyder. Accessory Designer of the Year nominees in addition to Mansur Gavriel were Altuzarra; Irene Neuwirth; McCollough and Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and the Olsens for The Row.

Last year’s winners were the Olsens for the Row for Womenswear Designer of the Year; Tom Ford for Menswear Designer of the Year; Tabitha Simmons for Accessories Designer of the Year and, in the Swarovski categories, Mansur Gavriel for accessories; Shayne Oliver for Hood by Air for men’s wear, and Rosie Assoulin for women’s wear. The Lifetime Achievement Award went to Betsey Johnson; the Founder’s Award to Millard “Mickey” Drexler of J. Crew; the International Award to Maria Grazia Chiuri and Pierpaolo Piccioli of Valentino; the Media Ward to Instagram, and the Fashion Icon Award to Pharrell Williams. www.wwd.com